Cancun, MEXICO (Oct. 4, 2014) – Wakeboarding’s best riders in the world lit up the waters of Puerto Cancun today behind the Malibu Wakesetter 23 LSV for the Pro Mens quarterfinals and Pro Womens semifinals of the WWA Cancun Pro presented by Malibu Boats.

As the event kicked off, Paul Michell Carrillo de Cáceres, mayor of Benito Juarez, Quintana Roo cut the ceremonial ribbon with Malibu Boats CEO Jack Springer and Shannon Starling, President of the WWA.

Four heats of pro men battled it out with the top three making it into tomorrow’s rounds. Andrew Adkison, Raph Derome, Rusty Malinoski and Phillip Soven were the heat winners and will have the top seeds going into Sunday.

“Riding today was really fun,” Soven said. “I’m going to make a couple adjustments tomorrow and try my best for the win. Whether you’re a rider or a spectator, this is such a nice place to be and overall, it’s a top class event.”

All finalists in the Pro Mens division will be awarded a double up in addition to their six-trick run on Sunday.

Dallas Friday, Melissa Marquardt and Amber Wing won their semis heats and are looking forward to the final round of six on Sunday, which includes a bonus, wildcard trick.

Malibu Boats and the WWA have a shared interest in evolving the look and feel of competitive wakeboarding, and the Cancun Pro is the first step towards wakeboarding’s next level of events. Stay tuned to and for daily highlight videos throughout the weekend.

All photos by: Chris Garrison

Phil Soven - Action

Pro Men

(top three advance)

Heat #1

1.) Andrew Adkison

2.) Cory Teunissen

3.) Austin Hair

4.) Dean Smith

Heat #2

1.)           Raph Derome

2.)           Shota Tezuka

3.)           Steel Lafferty

4.)           JD Webb

5.)           Marcos Torres

Heat #3

1.)           Rusty Malinoski

2.)           Tony Carroll

3.)           Danny Thollander

4.)           Gunnar Shuler

5.)           Oli Derome

Heat #4

1.)           Phil Soven

2.)           Kyle Rattray

3.)           Jeff Langley

4.)           Daniel Powers

5.)           Christian Primrose

Pro Women

(top two advance)

Heat #1

1.)           Dallas Friday

2.)           Meagan Ethell

3.)           Abby Delgoffe

Heat #2

1.) Melissa Marquardt

2.) Bec Gange

3.) Taylor McCullough

Heat #3

1.)           Amber Wing

2.)           Tarah Mikacich

3.)           Corrie Dyer

Tarah Mikacich - Lifestlye Amber Wiing - Action Tarah Mikacich - Action Mellissa Marquardt - Lifestyle Danny Hampson - Lifestlyle Kyle Ratray - Action Jefferson Langley - Lifestyle CG_10062014_Malibu_Cancun_Pro_256 Raph Derome - Lifestyle Venue Venue